This may apply to food and ingredients whose manufacture includes heat processing, i.e., spray-dried products, reacted flavours, production of fatty acids, canned foods, etc. If the equipment has been previously used for non-Kosher products, it renders any Kosher product non-Kosher. The Kosher product is viewed as absorbing the non-Kosher material from the walls of the vessels. However, if the equipment undergoes a special cleaning process called “Kosherisation” under supervision of a Rabbi, it can then be used for Kosher products. Such products may be marked with a special batch number or Kosher symbol and so noted in our comments column as a requirement for the product to be considered Kosher.
Kosherisation will typically require the use of steam and/or near boiling water (preferably > 95°C) in the CIP or cleaning. Racks in ovens or on BBQs where non-Kosher product is actually placed on the rack would need to be cleaned by blowtorching.
This applies to many foods and includes where a “processing aid” is added but is not considered an ingredient. For example, a non-Kosher processing aid may be added to the production of jams to ensure that the jam does not excessively bubble during boiling. This would not be considered bythe manufacturer as an ingredient but may make the product non-Kosher even if all other ingredients are Kosher.
There are a number of categories of ingredients:
Given the small number of items in the two preceding categories, the overwhelming majority of basic ingredients may or may not be Kosher, depending on their origin and processing history. Consequently, they require Rabbinic certification to ascertain that their origin is indeed Kosher, andwhether they are meat, dairy, or pareve.
Ingredients that require Rabbinic certification if the finished product is to be Kosher certified:
|Products that may be derived from an animal source
|Products that have or may have a grape origin
Ingredients that are dairy or may have a dairy origin and will cause a product to be dairy
All oils and fats
Natural fatty acids and their esters e.g. palmitic, stearic, oleic, and pelargonic acids
Polysorbates, sorbitans and all emulsifiers
Glycerol & compounds thereof
Enzymes & Enzyme modified products
Natural cognac oil
Amyl alcohol and esters
Cream of Tartar
Lactose, casein and derivatives
Cream and derivatives
Whey and derivatives
Fatty acids from butter or cheese, e.g. caproic acid